I read the text again, not out of shock or disbelief.
I was more sad, disappointed, frustrated, and overall broken-hearted.

She is in jail; I need help getting her out.

She is one of my good friends.
Someone who has been there for me.
Someone I have only been friends with for 9 months, but someone I have connected with through our sadness, our brokenness.

She is also someone I have rescued numerous times.

I have helped her stay out of jail once already.

I have gotten her out of rough situations, yet she always seems to throw herself right back in.

I have done all I can for her. I am empty. Empty of cash, and drained of emotion with her.

She is important to me.

But I can’t keep rescuing her.

How can I rescue her when I am still working on rescuing myself?

I have tried it numerous times.

But I always failed in helping myself.

I want to help her.

But I can’t.

Why is she in jail? I ask

He told the cops she stole his car.

Lies. He is full of Lies.

He doesn’t want her, but he won’t let her go.

Neither will she.

It’s exhausting.

Draining.

I am sorry. I am broke. I have nothing I can give.

I close my eyes, lean my head back against the couch.

Heartbroken.

Sad.

At a loss.

Sigh.

I am not a superhero.

I can’t even save myself.

I can’t always come to the rescue.

I wish I could though.

I so do.

