I look at the clock; 4:30.

Where is she?
She isn’t usually this late on a Friday.

I continue doing things around the classroom.

“Are you sure she is still here?” Ms. P. asks.

“Ya, I am sure she wouldn’t leave me.”

“Ok, as long as you’re sure.

I look at the clock again a little later.

5:00

Seriously? Where is she? Aren’t most teachers gone by now?

“Do you want me to give you a ride? I don’t mind.” Ms. P. asks.

“Oh no, it is fine.  I am sure she is just busy.”

She sticks around for a few more minutes.

“Ok, well if you are sure, I am going to head out.”

“Ok.”

We say our goodbyes and she walks out the door.

I stick around for a few more minutes.

Ok, I am going to look for her.  She has to be here somewhere.

I gather my stuff together, turn out the lights and shut the door.

I walk down the hall and turn the corner

Ms. P., and I nearly crash into eachother.

“I was just coming back for you” she says. It looks like she is gone. No one is around. I am giving you a ride.”

“Oh, ok.” I am rather baffled by this. 

How could my ride just forget me? How could she just leave? Am I that easy to forget about?

“That is just so weird. I just don’t get it.”

I’m sorry Kim.  But I don’t mind giving you a ride.”

 

It is weird that I was just forgotten like that.  It has happened before.  It is not a great feeling I must say.  Thank goodness for people who remember me.